And the Etisalat Prize for Literature Winner is…

On Sunday the 15th of March, 2015, the winner of the 2014 Etisalat Prize for Literature was announced at the Intercontinental Hotel, Lagos, Nigeria.

Three authors were shortlisted, but South African Songeziwe Mahlangu emerged the winner for the novel ‘Penumbra‘, beating Nigerian Chinelo Okparanta author of the novel ‘Happiness Like Water‘ and South African author Nadia Davids, author of the novel ‘An Imperfect Blessing‘.

Winner Songeziwe Mahlangu

Winner Songeziwe Mahlangu









The Novel 'Penumbra'

The Novel ‘Penumbra’













Runner up Chinelo Okparanta

Runner up Chinelo Okparanta












The Novel 'Happiness Like Water'

The Novel ‘Happiness Like Water’











Runner up Nadia Davids

Runner up Nadia Davids










The Novel 'An Imperfect Blessing'

The Novel ‘An Imperfect Blessing’











The Judges for this years Etisalat prize were Sarah Ladipo Manyika, Tsitsi Dagaremba and Jamal.

Performances were by Angelique Kidjo and Evelle.

The winner was awarded a cash prize of £15,000 and a high-end device, in addition to a book tour to three African cities. The winner will also embark on the Etisalat Fellowship at the University of East Anglia, which will afford him significant opportunities to network with other writers and publishers and time and resources to work on his second book. The two runners up also won a book tour and Etisalat will purchase 1,ooo copies of all three books for distribution across the continent.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: